Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons - EU

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) provides the basis for coordination between the various social security systems of Switzerland and the member states of the European Union.

Concluded on 21 June 1999 between Switzerland and the EU and in force since 1 June 2002, the AFMP is aimed at promoting geographical and professional mobility by easing residence and employment requirements in the states concerned. By ensuring better coordination of the various social security systems, it allows people to be covered beyond national borders.

Annex II of the Agreement contains the coordination provisions applicable within the EU, i.e. Regulations (EC) No 883/2004 and No 987/2009. Switzerland is also covered by these regulations through the AFMP.

Last modification 09.03.2022

Top of page