OASI/DI in Swiss social security

Old-age and survivors’ insurance (OASI) and disability insurance (DI) form the first pillar of the old-age, survivors' and disability provision within the Swiss social security system. It is in this first pillar that the CCO, among others, is active.

The five areas of the Swiss social security system are:

  • old-age, survivors' and disability provision (so-called "three-pillar system"),
  • insurance cover in case of illness and accident,
  • Loss of earnings compensation in case of service and maternity,
  • unemployment insurance,
  • family allowances.

These insurances cover the persons concerned and their families against social risks by providing financial benefits (pensions, allowances) or by covering costs, for example in the event of illness or accident.

Last modification 16.06.2021

Top of page