Coordination of the EU/EFTA area

The Agreement with the EU on the free movement of persons (ALCP) came into force on 1st June 2002. It includes provisions aiming at coordinating the social security systems between Switzerland and the EU Member States.

The ALCP applies to Swiss nationals and to the citizens of the EU Member countries. As the renewal of this agreement is not automatic, the ALCP has known two legal adaptations resulting in the 2004 and 2007 EU enlargements, which came into force in 2007 and 2009.

With the entry into force of the revised annex II to the Agreement on the free movement of persons (ALPC) from 1st April 2012, the new EU Regulations No 883/2004 and 987/2009 is applicable in the relations between Switzerland and the EU-States. These regulations replace regulations No 1408/71 and 574/72.

The Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) of 21st June 2001 includes similar coordination principles as the ALPC and applies to nationals of the four following States ; Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. This text came into force on 1st June 2002.

Insofar as the EFTA Convention does not specifically provide any other Regulations, the EU Regulations No 883/2004 and 987/2009, which replace the (CE) Regulations No 1408/71 and 574/72 are fully applicable since 1st January 2016.

The same Coordination Rules (EC Regulations n° 883/2004 and 987/2009) are applicable between Switzerland and the EU State Members as between Switzerland and the EFTA State Members.

Nevertheless, the EC Regulations n° 883/2004 and 987/2009 are not applied in the cases where there is a simultaneous relationship between Switzerland, the EU and the EFTA, as there is no “frame-work” agreement.

The ALCP and the EFTA Convention are not linked between them and their field of application is limited to each individual agreement between the Contracting States’ Members.


Equal treatment

The coordination regulations are designed to simplify the task of migrant workers and their family members when claiming for benefits. The EU Members States and the EFTA Members States ought to respectively treat nationals from other States Members in equal manner as their own nationals. The principle of equal treatment under the Regulation 883/2004 also applies to all persons who fall within the scope of the said Regulation and who do not reside in an EU Member State. Persons who worked or lived in more than one concerned State can find out about their rights and the allocation mode from the competent social security bodies in their country of residence.

Last modification 30.08.2017

Top of page

https://www.zas.admin.ch/content/zas/en/home/bases-legales-et-coordination-internationale/international/coordination-de-la-zone-ue-aele.html

Coordination de la zone UE/AELE

L'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) conclu avec l'UE est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2002. Il prévoit des dispositions visant à coordonner les systèmes de sécurité sociale entre la Suisse et les États membres de l'UE.

L'ALCP s'étend aux ressortissants suisses et aux citoyens des pays membres de l'UE. La reprise de cet accord n'étant pas automatique, l'ALCP a connu deux adaptations légales résultant des élargissements de l'UE de 2004 et de 2007 qui sont entrées en vigueur en 2007 et 2009.

Avec l'entrée en vigueur de l'annexe II révisée de l'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) à partir du 1er avril 2012 les nouveaux règlements de l'UE n°883/2004 et 987/2009 sont applicables dans les relations entre la Suisse et les Etats de l'UE. Ces règlements remplacent les règlements n°1408/71 et 574/72.

La Convention instituant l'Association Européenne de Libre-Echange (AELE) du 21 juin 2001 englobe des principes de coordination très proches à l'ALCP et s'applique aux ressortissants des quatre États suivants : Suisse, Islande, Liechtenstein et Norvège. Ce texte est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2002.

Dans la mesure où la Convention AELE ne prévoit pas expressément de réglementation contraire, les règlements de l'UE n°883/2004 et n°987/2009, qui remplacent les règlements (CE) n°1408/71 et 574/72, s'appliquent intégralement depuis le 1er janvier 2016.

Les mêmes règles de coordination (règlements (CE) n° 883/2004 et 987/2009) sont applicables entre la Suisse et les Etats membres de l’UE d’une part, et entre la Suisse et les Etats membres de l’AELE d’autre part.

Toutefois, les règlements (CE) n° 883/2004 et 987/2009 ne sont pas applicables aux situations qui comportent à la fois un rapport avec la Suisse, avec l’UE et avec l’AELE, puisqu’il n’existe pas d’«accord-cadre».

En effet, l’ALCP et la Convention AELE ne sont pas liés entre eux et leurs champs d’application se limitent aux ressortissants des Etats contractants de chaque accord. Ainsi, les règles de l’ALCP ne s’appliquent pas, par exemple, à un ressortissant du Liechtenstein qui résiderait en Autriche et travaillerait en Suisse.


Égalité de traitement

Les règles de coordination visent à faciliter les démarches des travailleurs migrants et des membres de leur famille lors des demandes de prestations. Les États membres de la zone UE, respectivement de l’AELE, doivent traiter les ressortissants des autres pays membres de la même manière que leurs propres ressortissants. Le principe d'égalité de traitement prévu par le Règl. 883/2004 vaut également pour toutes les personnes qui tombent dans le champ d'application dudit Règlement et qui ne résident pas dans un Etat membre de l'UE. Les personnes ayant travaillé ou résidé dans plus d'un État concerné peuvent se renseigner sur leurs droits et sur les modalités d'attribution auprès des organismes de sécurité sociale compétents dans leur pays de résidence.

Dernière modification 30.08.2017

Début de la page

https://www.zas.admin.ch/content/zas/fr/home/bases-legales-et-coordination-internationale/international/coordination-de-la-zone-ue-aele.html