Coordination of the EU/EFTA area

The Agreement with the EU on the free movement of persons (ALCP) came into force on 1st June 2002. It includes provisions aiming at coordinating the social security systems between Switzerland and the EU Member States.

The ALCP applies to Swiss nationals and to the citizens of the EU Member countries. As the renewal of this agreement is not automatic, the ALCP has known two legal adaptations resulting in the 2004 and 2007 EU enlargements, which came into force in 2007 and 2009.

With the entry into force of the revised annex II to the Agreement on the free movement of persons (ALPC) from 1st April 2012, the new EU Regulations No 883/2004 and 987/2009 is applicable in the relations between Switzerland and the EU-States. These regulations replace regulations No 1408/71 and 574/72.

The Convention establishing the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) of 21st June 2001 includes similar coordination principles as the ALPC and applies to nationals of the four following States ; Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. This text came into force on 1st June 2002.

Insofar as the EFTA Convention does not specifically provide any other Regulations, the EU Regulations No 883/2004 and 987/2009, which replace the (CE) Regulations No 1408/71 and 574/72 are fully applicable since 1st January 2016.

The same Coordination Rules (EC Regulations n° 883/2004 and 987/2009) are applicable between Switzerland and the EU State Members as between Switzerland and the EFTA State Members.

Nevertheless, the EC Regulations n° 883/2004 and 987/2009 are not applied in the cases where there is a simultaneous relationship between Switzerland, the EU and the EFTA, as there is no “frame-work” agreement.

The ALCP and the EFTA Convention are not linked between them and their field of application is limited to each individual agreement between the Contracting States’ Members.


Equal treatment

The coordination regulations are designed to simplify the task of migrant workers and their family members when claiming for benefits. The EU Members States and the EFTA Members States ought to respectively treat nationals from other States Members in equal manner as their own nationals. The principle of equal treatment under the Regulation 883/2004 also applies to all persons who fall within the scope of the said Regulation and who do not reside in an EU Member State. Persons who worked or lived in more than one concerned State can find out about their rights and the allocation mode from the competent social security bodies in their country of residence.

Last modification 30.08.2017

Top of page

https://www.zas.admin.ch/content/zas/en/home/bases-legales-et-coordination-internationale/international/coordination-de-la-zone-ue-aele.html

Koordination der EU/EFTA-Zone

Am 1. Juni 2002 ist das Abkommen über die Freizügigkeit (FZA) mit der EU in Kraft getreten. Ziel dieses Abkommens ist die Koordinierung der Systeme der Sozialen Sicherheit zwischen der Schweiz und den Mitgliedstaaten der EU.

Das Freizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) betrifft Staatsangehörige von Mitgliedstaaten der EU. Es erweitert sich nicht automatisch auf neue Mitgliedstaaten. Bis heute gab es durch die EU-Erweiterung zwei Ausdehnungen des FZA, eine im Jahr 2004 und eine im Jahr 2007, welche im 2007 und 2009 in Kraft getreten sind.

Durch das Inkrafttreten des revidierten Anhangs II zum Freizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) am 1. April 2012 sind in Beziehung zwischen der Schweiz und den EU-Mitgliedstaaten die neuen EU-Verordnungen Nr. 883/2004 und 987/2009 anwendbar.

Das Übereinkommen zur Errichtung der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) vom 21. Juni 2001 enthält ähnliche Koordinations-Grundsätze wie das FZA und gilt für Staatsangehörige aus vier Ländern: Schweiz, Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen.

Sofern das EFTA-Abkommen nicht ausdrücklich eine Abweichung vorsieht, sind seit dem 1. Januar 2016 die EU-Verordnungen Nr. 883/2004 und Nr. 987/2009, welche die Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 und Nr. 574/72 abgelöst haben, vollumfänglich anwendbar.

Mit den Verordnungen (EG) 883/2004 und 987/2009 sind dieselben Koordinierungsregeln einerseits zwischen der Schweiz und den EU-Mitgliedstaaten und andererseits zwischen der Schweiz und den EFTA-Staaten anwendbar.

Die Verordnungen 883/2004 und 987/2009 finden jedoch keine Anwendung auf Sachverhalte, die gleichzeitig einen Bezug zur Schweiz, zur EU und zur EFTA aufweisen, da es an einem "Dachübereinkommen" fehlt.    

In der Tat sind das FZA und das EFTA-Übereinkommen nicht miteinander verbunden und die Regeln gelten jeweils nur für die Angehörigen der Vertragsstaaten des entsprechenden Abkommens. Beispielsweise gilt das FZA nicht für liechtensteinische Staatsangehörige, die in Österreich wohnen und in der Schweiz arbeiten.


Gleichbehandlung

Ziel der Koordinierungs-Vorschriften ist es, das Leistungs-Verfahren für Wanderarbeiter/innen und deren Familienangehörigen zu erleichtern. Die EU-, bzw./EFTA-Staaten müssen die Staatangehörigen anderer Länder gleich behandeln wie ihre Landsleute. Der Gleichbehandlungsgrundsatz der Vo 883/2004 gilt neu für alle Personen, die in den Anwendungsbereich der Verordnung fallen und die ausserhalb eines EU-Mitgliedstaats Wohnsitz haben. Personen, welche in mehreren Staaten gearbeitet oder gelebt haben, können sich bei der zuständigen Sozialversicherungsstelle ihres Wohnorts über ihre Rechte informieren und den Antrag auf eine mögliche Leistung stellen.

Letzte Änderung 30.08.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.zas.admin.ch/content/zas/de/home/bases-legales-et-coordination-internationale/international/coordination-de-la-zone-ue-aele.html